What are knockout stages?

Article author
  • Updated

Knockout stages occur after the group stages. A knockout stage is an elimination round in which two teams play against each other. There are no draws and the losing team gets eliminated. There are three (3) knockout stages:

  • Round of 16
  • Quarter finals
  • Semi-finals

There won’t be an opportunity to pick extra players in the squad before the final and third/fourth place games, as it’s the same teams as the semi-finals.

Was this article helpful?

Have more questions? Submit a request



Article is closed for comments.